winter blues

It’s really cold in Brisbane right now. Really cold.

I’m not talking put-on-a-scarf and grab-your-cardigan cold. I’m talking socially-unacceptable-warming-dances and hair-down-for-any-scrap-of-extra-warmth cold.

I recently went away to the Gold Coast Hinterlands for the weekend. Our accomodation consisted of a lovely wooden cabin and bunk beds. My sleeping bag and I have a pretty good track record of giving me restful sleep when it comes to accomodation like this. Having had a long and tiring week, I was looking forward to a nice sleep. It was quite chilly outside, so that first night, I put on a pair of socks before I snuggled into my sleeping bag. This will be more than enough, I thought.

Oh, how naive.

At first, all was good. However, I didn’t take long for everything to go wrong. Horribly, horribly wrong.

I still don’t know how it happened, but suddenly the warmth seeped out of my bag, only to be replaced with the biting hinterland cold.

Knowing what would happen next, I curled up into a ball to maintain body heat. I rubbed my feet together, trying to maintain warmth in my toes. I resorted to zipping my head into my sleeping bag.
No matter what I did, my body refused to warm up.

My little oversight resulted in a night of sleeplessness. My poor friend sleeping on the bunk below me had to deal with my restless turning all night long.

Not usually being a morning person, you can only imagine what I was like the morning after. Grumpy and miserable, I complained to anyone who would listen. Winter, you had won this round. Now, it was my turn.

Luckily for me, my cabinmates were already asleep by the time I go back to the cabin. It was time for war. Here’s a little peek of my strategy.

TOES:
One pair of socks just wouldn’t be enough. It’d have to be two if I had any hope of winning. I also would need extra insulation at the bottom of my sleeping bag. My jersey and scarf would do just the trick.

LEGS:
While my legs weren’t as cold as my toes the night before, there was no room for mistakes tonight. An extra pair of tights under my pj’s was needed.

BODY:
I had worn my jersey the night before and my neck had suffered. My hoodie would provide the extra warmth to my neck. That usually would have been enough but I wore two extra layers below the hoodie just in case.

That night, I still froze.

Winter: 2
Me:0

________________________________

Twitter: Β @missaprilchan

Instagram:Β @apess

