laugh out loud

I’m sure there will be people of the same volition no matter where in the world. But right now, I’ve just about had it with the Olympics. Sure, there’s still the odd event that will capture my interest (rhythmic gymnastics – crazy stuff), but for the most part, I have been looking for a reprieve.

Mindlessly channel surfing a few nights ago, I was surprised with some of the programming. Surprised in a good way.

It’s been a while since a show has been able to make me Laugh Out Loud. These shows had me Rolling On the Floor Laughing My Ass Off. And who doesn’t love a good laugh?

Randling (AUS)
Hilarious fun, with guests claiming masonry membership and bagpipe prowess. Featuring items like “i beat blaxx” (yes, it does exist) and words like “Witzelsucht” (a weird compulsion to say bad puns – Chandler, anyone?). Good times all around. Although it hasn’t been doing very well in the ratings department, I hope the ABC sees the gem they have in this show and sticks with it.

Would I Lie To You? (UK)
I love the United Kingdom, I really do. Brits, Welsh, Scots. It’s not just the accent (okay, so maybe it is). This show, or at least the episode I watched, featured some of the best trolling I’ve seen – maybe almost ever. The panellists have great humour and chemistry and ensure the show flows smoothly.

Whose Line is it Anyways? (US)
Having previously competed as part of a theatresports group (we won the Queensland title in 2010!), this show holds a special place in my heart. It’s incredibly difficult to improvise a flowing scene – let alone be funny at the same time. Speaking from experience, it requires a knowledge of your teammates’ style and sense of humour; you have to gel as a team in order to make it work. These guys are the pros. YouTube them (I’d recommend the Robin Williams ones). You won’t regret it.

________________________________

Twitter:  @missaprilchan

Instagram: @apess

