familial ties

It’s 6:30 and I find myself in the car. Still.

Perhaps I should backtrack a little.

A few days ago in Brisbane, we had ourselves a little public holiday. It was People’s day, a day set aside in August every year so that people could go to the Exhibition. Or, as us locals affectionately refer to it, the Ekka.

Now, usually my familia and I would be heading off for the Ekka. But after several consecutive years of loyal attendance, we decided to forgo it this year. Aside from the ridiculously high amount of people who go on People’s Day, it’s ridiculously expensive. As my friend so eloquently summarised, ‘the only thing you get for free is the flu.’

This year we decided to go to Seaworld, one of the Gold Coast’s many theme parks. Now, if you know Seaworld, you’d know it’s not the place a teenage girl would normally choose to go. There’s Dreamworld and Movieworld, also in the Gold Coast, for us adrenalin junkie teens. Seaworld is more your young family type of venue.

So why go?

I guess this is my indirect and convoluted way of saying I love my family. I don’t know about most people, but for me, family is one of the most important aspects of my life. I came to the realisation a few years ago that, in a few years time, my three siblings and I would all be at that point in life where we go off and explore the world – sans family. My heart sunk a little.

And so I vowed to spend more time with the fambam before this would happen. Before we all grow old and are miles apart, both physically and emotionally (though hopefully not!).

I’ll always have my friends, no matter what corner of the world I end up. But I only have one family, and who knows where we’ll all wonder off to?

Which brings me back to the car. We’d left Seaworld at 5:13 (I have a weird obsessive compulsive thing to time how long it takes for different things.) Fast forward to 6:30, and we’re still on the highway stuck in the mother of all traffic jams. But you know what? There’s no other place I’d rather have been.

Oh, and we didn’t get home until 7:17.
2 hours and 4 minutes.

Crazy Chan Clan

Crazy Chan Clan

________________________________

Twitter: Β @missaprilchan

Instagram:Β @apess

 

