first world problems

Earlier this week, I wasted 55c of phone credit and got nothing out of it.

And you know what? I felt really annoyed at that fact. I’m talking a half hour rant afterwards to my otherwise uncaring family over dinner (and who can blame them?).

I know what you’re probably thinking: what a spoilt brat.

I don’t blame you. Looking back, I’m really ashamed at myself for such a drastic and disproportionate overreaction.

As a ‘poor’ uni student, I’m already living around the top 5% mark of the world’s richest people. Those of you who are working full-time most likely live within the world’s 1%. And no, that’s no exaggeration. Look up the stats for yourself.

We of the first-world-countries persuasion tend to blow our material problems way out of proportion. Looking at my life now, I have a roof over my head, plenty of food to eat (and then some), clean water to drink and a place to sleep.

And on top of that, I get to have an education, a casual job, an internet connection and TV to watch whenever I please.

If you are reading this, you’re probably in the same, or a very similar, situation as me. How extraordinarily lucky are we?!

Wow, I’m getting pretty serious here.

I guess I’ve just been really challenged this week to put everything in perspective. We can either choose to complain about all the little things we don’t have, or live gratefully for all the blessings we already do.

P.S. Wasted more phone credit last night. This time it was 60c. But you know what? I can live with that.

________________________________

Twitter: Β @missaprilchan

Instagram:Β @apess

