on the small screen

So, this week has finally arrived.

In case you missed it, I’m doing a unit called Radio and Television, where we do four days of radio broadcasting and five days of TV. Both weeks we produce a half hour bulletin for a radio and television station respectively.

With my radio week done and dusted, this week I’m doing TV!

In TV, we get assigned to three different sections: local, national or international. With local news we get to go out into the big bad world and source our own interviews and footage alongside a camera crew. With national and international news, we get access to the Reuters feeds and, through an agreement with my uni, Channel 7’s footage.

A day in the TV newsroom is slightly less structured than radio. We all rock up by 8am, but depending on where you’re assigned and the chaos that ensues, you’ll find yourself leaving the newsroom anytime between 2-4:30pm. It’s hard seeing people leave early and being stuck in the newsroom for another hour or so, but you gotta do what you gotta do.

DAY ONE
I should have seen it coming with my luck, but I was assigned a local story today. Greatttt. Well, I suppose it would have been better if Brisbane had a social media expert – anyone – available to talk to me. Sulking aside, I must admit it was a great learning experience. What did I learn? 1: to call anyone and everyone for an interview, 2: you will use a lot of credit while calling anyone and everyone, 3: sometimes, anyone and everyone will not answer their phone (okay, so maybe I’m still a bit sulky.)

the oh-so-precious tape of hard-earned footage

the oh-so-precious tape of hard-earned footage

DAY TWO
I was assigned to international news today, and boy, the lack of stress compared to yesterday is ridiculous! Whereas yesterday I was struggling to get my two interviews, today the footage was being handed to me on a silver platter. Personally, I also find international events more to my interest, so there might be a bit of bias on that front. Because of writing these stories was relatively easy, I got to voice two stories and write two RVOs (reader voice overs). After getting home, I took a (very long) nap.

cruising along in the QUT news van

cruising along in the QUT news van

DAY THREE
And the great luck continues! I was put on Sports today. Steeeeeeep learning curve happened. I was assigned the story – Brisbane Roar and Queensland Firebirds pressers – at 7:50 and was in the car by 8. Yeah. That’s ten minutes I got to cram as much as I could. Luckily, out in the field an extremely nice ABC sports journo reached out to me. I must have looked so out of place. She gave me some really helpful tips and made me feel welcome! The day was going smoothly. Too smoothly. Soon after, I hit a few hitches in editing (i.e. me fully over estimating how much file footage we had), but that was soon sorted.

pressers in one word - glamourous.

pressers in one word – glamourous.

DAY FOUR
I don’t know what happened, but sometime between the start of the week and now, we’ve all gotten to know each other quite well over the past few days and it’s made for a pleasant change in dynamic of the newsroom. Instead of being intimidated by all the loud talk going on, all of us are starting to join in and have some good fun. Also, while I was down in ingest (the room where all the picture feeds lead to), there was a power outage, causing what is usually a 20 minute editing job into a 60 minute one. Fun times down in level 3, I say! But yes, amidst all the chaos I did two stories today. It’s hard to believe there’s only one day left!

ingest: where the (visual) magic happens

ingest: where the (visual) magic happens

DAY FIVE
Last day, and I couldn’t be more excited. Nothing major to report on. I was on national news today, and after helping out the international guys with their stories, I’m assigned to voice a start written by another person who has to jet off and do her local story today. I guess this reflects the newsroom mentality quite well – teamwork is essential! Her story was on the Bali bombing anniversary ceremonies being held around Australia. After checking there were no stories for me to help with, I was done!

the final product!

the final product!

 

It’s been a rollercoaster ride these past few weeks! Both praxes had their high and low points, but as I’ve said before, there’s no denying I’ve learnt a ton – things you would only be able to learn through experience. While I don’t know whether I would put myself through it again next semester, it’s definitely opened up my mind to the possibilities!

________________________________

Twitter:  @missaprilchan

Instagram: @apess

