more internships!

Wow, it’s been a while!

Time has flown by since I last posted here. For the last few months I’ve been jumping from one commitment to the next but I’ve finally found some time to sit down and write a little update for everyone!

I’ll probably post a few short posts on what I’ve been doing as opposed to one long chunk of text because let’s be honest – ain’t nobody got time for that (I am so sorry but I could not resist).

So the main reason I’ve been inactive for a while is because of the internship I had throughout the semester. Juggling an internship and uni work ain’t easy folks! Adding to that the fact that my time-management skills are basically non-existent and you have yourself a recipe for disaster. But we’re on the other side of it now and I’m alive and sane, so anything is possible! Anyways, I digress. For three months, one day a week, I was interning at theΒ ABC News OnlineΒ headquarters in Brisbane.

I can’t even begin to describe what an amazing experience it was! Getting the opportunity to work with these people, who are not only at the forefront of news reporting but also of catering to an online audience, was amazing. For most weeks I was paired up with different editors and producers of everything from graphics to social media. This meant I got to experience all different facets of the newsroom, including editing photos for the photo editor and writing my own stories for publication!

My name! Oh man, still so surreal.

My name! Oh man, still so surreal.

Having not done my second-year online journalism unit at uni yet (those pesky timetable clashes!), at the beginning of the internship I wouldn’t have been able to tell you what SEO is or how to properly utilise tagging. Fully under-equipped? Tell me about it.

However, despite the 6am starts (which, for me to get there on time, means getting up at 4:30am – and I am not a morning person), I would do it all over again! The experience I gained was incomparable and definitely opened my eyes to the world of online as its own form of journalism and not just a complement to broadcast or print.

One of the best bits? Having the internship count towards my degree – definitely helps with the study load!

That’s about it for now – hopefully I’ll get the next one up tomorrow (if not, then definitely in the next few days), where I’ll talk about what it was like to be a newsreader for a week!

________________________________

Twitter: Β @missaprilchan

Instagram: @apess

